View Full Version : Weight Question
I certified at 25 but have wrestled 30 all year. Can I use the "next day allowance" this weekend? Can I weigh in Thur at over 25 and wrestle 30, weigh-in Friday over 25 and wrestle 30 then wrestle 125 Sat weighing 127?
I have not made scratch yet. I thought the lost next day allowance only mattered after January 1. IHSA only addresses after Jan 1 rules.
12-09-2008, 08:31 PM
The interpretation I've heard is that you can weigh in @ 127 (if that's the allowance) & wrestle 125, but THAT weigh-in does not count as your 125 certification weigh-in. You must weigh-in at scratch weight (in your case 125) for it to count as your certification.
C. After January 1st, a wrestler may only get growth allowance for the lowest weight class that that
wrestler has made scratch weight at. This is true, even if the wrestler plans to go down one more
weight class. Before a wrestler can get growth allowance at that next lower weight, they must make
scratch weight the first time down after January 1st. A wrestler may not take consecutive day weight
allowance at any time during the year until they have made scratch weight at that weight class.
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.