Illinois Matmen Forums Illinois Matmen Forums

Go Back   Illinois Matmen Forums > Non-Wrestling > Non-Wrestling Talk

Old 09-25-2017
Olympian

attendance policy

I am looking for feedback. Everyone on this site is involved with education in some way. Parents, coaches, former students. I have been teaching at Proviso for 19 years. There is NO policy regarding attendance. No consequences for being late, nothing. I have had kids miss 80 out of 90 days. Then, they pressure us to let them, "make up the work," retake the test, you name it, I have seen it. Feel free not to name a school, but what is your school's policy about attendance?
Old 10-01-2017
Varsity

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpioneer View Post
I am looking for feedback. Everyone on this site is involved with education in some way. Parents, coaches, former students. I have been teaching at Proviso for 19 years. There is NO policy regarding attendance. No consequences for being late, nothing. I have had kids miss 80 out of 90 days. Then, they pressure us to let them, "make up the work," retake the test, you name it, I have seen it. Feel free not to name a school, but what is your school's policy about attendance?
I k now at our school if you dont miss more then x amount of days you dont take the midterm exam or final .As for days off any time my choldren have missed more then three consecutive days i am notified by either voicemail or email .When it comes to academic eligibility the AD handles that and has a no tolerance policy .All this being said it doesnt effect our program one bit there is no real commitment or discipline in the room and those in charge do the minimum to improve the wrestling program
Old 10-02-2017
Olympian

Thanks, I have not coached wrestling since about 2011-12. But I am just amazed that as we are supposed to be preparing students for success in the future.....There is NO attendance policy at Proviso West. Come in 3rd period, what the hell?
Old 10-03-2017
Olympian

Quote: