No announcement yet.

AWA Sign Ups

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • AWA Sign Ups

    What is Ascension Wrestling Academy
    AWA is an offseason program designed for central Illinois beginning and advanced wrestlers ages 7 and up who want to take there skills to the next level. AWA offers a variety of folkstyle, freestyle, and greco-roman instruction which is vital for any wrestler to achieve the highest level. Our program provides a wide range of coaches and guest clinicians that come from the University of Iowa, Millikin University, Iowa State University, Penn State University, University of Illinois, McKendree University, Indiana University, Eastern Illinois University, Northern Illinois University, Illinois College, and Lincoln Junior College. AWA also gives its wrestlers the opportunity to practice with multiple partners, thus exposing them to different wrestling styles which is also essential to their development.

    Where does Ascension take place?
    AWA practices take place a Glenwood High School every Tuesday and Thursday from 4:30pm-5:45pm. The program starts March 28th with registration at 4:15pm and the first practice immediately following. We will conclude the program in early July.

    How much does Ascension cost?
    AWA costs $100 for membership and a singlet. $50 for membership only. $20 if you are on free and reduced lunch at your school. First time members will be able to order a singlet, returning members can exchange their singlet for a bigger size with no charge, only if they return a singlet in good condition.

    Who will be instructing the wrestlers?
    Wrestlers will be instructed by Jeremy Mosier (Head Coach Glenwood High School), Josh Murphy (Head Coach Jacksonville Wrestling Club), Ken Davis (Assistant Coach Chatham Kids Club). There will also be the benefit of guest clinicians that are among the top NCAA wrestlers and coaches in the country:

    Past clinicians include:
    Mario Morgan: 2011 NCAA National Champion DII University of Omaha-Nebraska
    Clayton Rush: 2x NCAA National Champion DIII
    TJ Williams: 2x NCAA DI National Champion from the University of Iowa
    James Kigsden: Head Coach McKendree University, NAIA National Coach of the Year.
    Jordan Blanton: 3x Illinois State Champion, returning NCAA All-American for University of Illinois
    Tyler Clark: Illinois State Champion, Currently wrestled for the University of Iowa
    Paul Collum: 2x Illinois State Champion, head wrestling coach at Lindenwood/Bellville Univ.
    Justin Hale: Wrestled for Iowa State University and Lincoln Jr. College 2x NJCAA All-American
    Doug Dewald: 2009 Iowa State Champion, wrestled for Iowa State University, 2009 Coach of the year.
    Ryan Root: Wrestled for Penn State University and University of Illinois. 3x Illinois State Place winner

    Jeremy Mosier
    Visit us at
    217.454.8464 or