Illinois Matmen Forums Illinois Matmen Forums

Go Back   Illinois Matmen Forums > Statewide > Illinois Matmen News > Rob Sherrill's Blog

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2011
Rob Sherrill Rob Sherrill is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,259
Newest Cadet freestyle champions: Moody, Holler and Robertson

Jabari Moody (84) and Colin Holler (140) scored pins to win their title matches and Ricky Robertson (171) won after moving up a weight to give Illinois three champions in the Cadet National Freestyle Championships, which concluded this afternoon at the FargoDome.

Moody's win clinched Illinois' second Wells Fargo team title of the week. The winning margin was 10 points over Pennsylvania.

The final team Top 10:

2. Pennsylvania, 60
3. Minnesota, 42
4. Oklahoma, 41
5. Missouri, 40
6. New Jersey, 34
7. Iowa, 32
8. California, 31
9. Ohio, 28
10. Oregon, 24


Moody, who lost the first period 3-3 to Jeff Karam of Pennsylvania, hip-tossed him in the second period, threw in a half and scored a pin 41 seconds into the period.

Holler and Robertson each overcome a pool loss to win their titles. Holler had no trouble against fellow sophomore Kenny Martin of Nebraska. He won the first period 6-0, then turned Martin on the edge in the second period to secure the pin in 1:09.

Robertson broke a 2-2 tie with a three-point double-leg takedown in the final 10 seconds of the first period and went to beat Parker Von Egidy of North Carolina 5-3, 2-1.

Moody and Robertson both finished second in the Cadet National Greco-Roman tournament.

Miguel Silva was pinned in 1:53 by Cadet Triple Crown winner Gannon Volk in the final at 91 and Jeremy Ellingwood, who won six straight matches to reach the finals after losing his opening-round match, lost 4-0, 1-0 to 2010 Cadet Triple Crown winner Mitch Sliga of Indiana, who won his second straight Cadet Nationals double title.

Minnesota went 4-for-4 in the finals, with Volk, Tommy Thorn (105), Seth Gross (112) and Sam Stoll (285) winning titles. Volk and Stoll were dluble champions along with Sliga, Aaron Pico (119) of California and Chance Marsteller (152) of Pennsylvania, voted the meet's Outstanding Wrestler.

The final honor roll of All-Americans:

84 - Jabari Moody, CHAMPION; Jordan Reich, 6th; Nick Lukanich, 8th
91 - Miguel Silva, 2nd
105 - Jordan Northrup, 4th
112 - Sebastian Pique, 3rd; Barlow McGhee, 4th (Pique won the third-place match 1-0, 1-1); Josh Alber, 7th
119 - Nicholas Gil, 8th
125 - Garrett Sutton, 6th
140 - Colin Holler, CHAMPION
171 - Ricky Robertson, CHAMPION
189 - Jordan Ellingwood, 2nd
285 - Michael Johnson, 3rd

Great job, everyone!

Last edited by Rob Sherrill; 07-22-2011 at 05:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.