Illinois Matmen Forums Illinois Matmen Forums

Go Back   Illinois Matmen Forums > Non-Wrestling > Non-Wrestling Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-24-2009
NIref NIref is offline
Varsity
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 536
Under no circumstances can the figure four to the head be put in from neutral. That includes the drape with the arm.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-06-2009
Nelson*0.5's Avatar
Nelson*0.5 Nelson*0.5 is online now
Olympian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by NIref View Post
It's not usually a "go-to" move. We stop it often for illegal or potentially dangerous (usually a PD), mostly because kids suck at putting it in.

The figure four to the head is only legal when someone on top does it. It cannot be put in from the neutral position. This usually happens when a kid shoots a low double, is dropped to his knees, and picks up the wrestler from his knees, putting the opponent's feet in the air. If he puts the figure four in, it's a technical violation, if he scissors the HEAD, I believe it's an immediate stoppage and penalty.
Actually, you are incorrect to say that it is only legal when someone on top does it. The bottom wrestler can also put it in and not get penalized. Think of it this way. Often we see the top wrestler drop down to a single to return the bottom guy to the mat after he attempts a stand up. The top wrestler remains in control while he is on the leg and should not get warned for stalling as long as he is working to improve, i.e. working to remain in control. Should he get his head buried on the inside (between the defensive wrestlers leg) while still maintaining control of the leg he may attempt to lift the defensive wrestler. The defensive wrestler then could figure four the head and not get penalized.

You did mention correctly that the figure four is a technical violation from the neutral position. The neutral position is the only place that a figure four would result in a TV.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-18-2009
marco_coach marco_coach is offline
Varsity
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Polo
Posts: 253
Talking does anyone on your team use the move?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rasslcub View Post
anybody else out there love to use this hold? I find it very effective to pin

looking for thoughts/ideas about the hold... I've never had the hold applied to me.... so anybody on the receiving end can add to discussion...

does your team coaches teach the hold and actively encourage it? do any of your team members use the hold as well?
We have a young lady on our team that uses the figure 4 with the wing very effectively. She has pinned alot of the young men with it...
__________________
believing in ones self is winning in and of itself
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-02-2009
Crippler710 Crippler710 is offline
Coach
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 162
Big Ten Network

Niko Triggas the 125lber at Ohio State has used it twice in the past 2 weeks, to secure 2 falls...Both televised...Im sure you can youtube those, as they were both done very effectively.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-02-2009
Phoenix 130 Phoenix 130 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 24
Brandon Giletine From Peotone Has Used This Hold In Most Of His Matches But He Has Many Other Moves Too
__________________
Phoenix From Peotone
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Tags
coaching, headscissor; fig-4, pin

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.