Illinois Matmen Forums Illinois Matmen Forums

Go Back   Illinois Matmen Forums > Statewide > Illinois Matmen News > Rob Sherrill's Blog

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2014
Rob Sherrill Rob Sherrill is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,260
With 5 finalists, Cadet freestyle title's in the bag

Things didn’t start off that well for Illinois in Thursday night’s session...not with the draws that many wrestlers had.

But with victories by Greco-Roman champion Austin Gomez at 113 and a monster win by Dylan Duncan, 13-5 over two-time New York state champion Vito Arujau at 120, Illinois went on to advance five to the Cadet National freestyle finals, while clinching their third team title this week.

Also in the finals: Jaime Hernandez (132), Shayne Oster (138) and Kamal Bey (170). They lead 20 All-Americans, just one short of the Cadet Greco-Roman total.

Illinois held a 10-8 lead over Pennsylvania in semifinalists, and just an 11-point lead as the evening session started. But it was the Keystone Staters who stumbled badly, advancing just two to the finals as Illinois extended its lead to 31 points at the close of the session. That lead stands at 78-51, with only tomorrow’s placing matches remaining. Ohio is third with 46.

Bey is involved in one of two rematches of Greco-Roman finalists. He’ll once again face Beau Breske of Wisconsin, bidding for his second straight double title. They’ll be followed by a rematch of the 182-pound final between Keegan Moore of Minnesota and Wyatt Koelling of Utah. Moore won the Greco final, 6-5.

Gomez, Breske and Moore are among 11 wrestlers with a chance to become double champions. Other Greco champions in the finals: Nicolas Aguilar (94) of California, Roman Bravo-Young (100) of Arizona, Ian Timmins (106) of Nevada, Jaden Enriquez (126) of California, Ethan Karsten (138) of Missouri, Matthew Park (145) of Idaho, Owen Webster (160) of Minnesota and Matt Stencel (195) of Ohio. The record for double Cadet champions in a single year is nine.

Several wrestlers, while they didn’t place, racked up impressive win totals.

Here’s the list of some of them.

6 contested wins:
Demarius Smith-Terhune, 132

5 contested wins:
Michael McGee, 120
Michael Peters, 132

4 contested wins:
Austin Macias, 106
David Rivera-Kohr, 120
Jake Barzowski, 132
Jake Lanning, 152
James Watters, 182

A dozen more had 3 wins each.

Good luck to the Juniors!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.