View Full Version : Round Robin Bracket/Placement Question
01-31-2005, 02:22 PM
I will try my best to explain simply. We were at LaSalle Peru Tournament yesterday and they ran four man round robin.
There was a three way tie for first place as follows. Lets call them wrestlers A, B, C, D.
A, B, & C all beat wrestler D. D takes fourth place.
A beats B
B beats C
C beats A
Wrestler A has one pin win and one decision win (2-1)
Wrestler B has two pin wins (2-1)
Wrestler C has one pin win and one decision win (2-1)
Who takes first, second and third?
Thanks and please advise if more information is needed.
01-31-2005, 02:35 PM
The one with two pins wins first and the fastest pin wins second then the other kid wins third. Hope that helps
01-31-2005, 02:40 PM
Thanks....that is what I thought as well. They did not rule it like that and it needs to be changed. Its not like its mens gymnastics in the Olmpics, but ....
01-31-2005, 02:47 PM
That is how we have done this in the past at tournaments but some do not do it that way and there is no IKWF rule in the book that states otherwise that my husband has found
01-31-2005, 02:50 PM
B wins 1st because of the 2 pins C takes 2nd because he beat A A takes 3rd.
In the Know
01-31-2005, 02:50 PM
B takes 1st
D takes 4th
The rest depends on the decisions. Both A & C have pins. The next question is by what margin did A & C win their matches by. You use scoring just as in team scoring of duals. 7 pts or less=3, 8-14 pts=4, Tech fall=5.
Hope that helps. If both won by same margins then fastest pin is next criteria.
01-31-2005, 02:52 PM
I just spoke with the tournament director and it is agreed, my son's second place trophy will be replaced with a first place trophy. He worked hard for those two pins! They have to be worth extra. It was our second La Salle Peru and it is an excellent tournament, very well run. Thanks for the quick reply.
01-31-2005, 10:57 PM
And if the decisions were both 3pt. then it's the faster pin???
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.