IWCOA Announces Hall of Fame, Lifetime Service, and Grand Marshals

The Illinois Wrestling Coaches and Officials Association (IWCOA) has announced the Class of 2017 Hall of Fame inductees. These individuals will be honored during the IHSA Individual State Championships in Champaign on Friday February 17, 2017 before the Semifinals begin and officially inducted at the IWCOA Hall of Fame Induction and Lifetime Service Award Banquet held at the Holiday Inn of Countryside on Saturday April 22, 2017.

2017 Hall of Fame Inductees:
Booker Benford
Alan Cartwright
Dr. Benjamin Cooper
George Dergo
Greg Easter
Raymond Eickelschulte
Shannyn Gillespie
Jan Gitcho
Mike Greenfield
Jim Heffernan
Scott Holbrook
David Holler
Tyler Hurry
Bob Kuykendall
Pat Manning
Jim Moxley
Nathan Patrick
Pat Quirk
Kirby Rodgers
Don Stumpf
Reggie Wright
Shane Zajac

The IWCOA is also pleased to honor the outstanding contributors to Illinois Wrestling with the 2017 Lifetime Service Award. These individuals will be honored and celebrated at the 2017 Hall of Fame Induction and Lifetime Service Award Banquet on Saturday April 22, 2017 in Countryside, IL at the Holiday Inn of Countryside.

Lifetime Service Award Honorees:
Tim Dodge
Dale Eggert
Dave Gannaway
Deb Nason
Mike Polz
Ron Reichert
Mark Ruettiger
Ron Ryan

The IWCOA also announced the 2017 IHSA/IWCOA Grand Marshals of the 2017 IHSA Individual State Tournament. These four gentlemen have given an incredible amount of service to the sport of wrestling in the state of Illinois.

2017 Grand Marshals:
Mike Bukovsky
Jim Chaloupka
David Curby
Ray Winesburg

On Saturday February 18, 2017, these four will lead the 2017 Grand March during the IHSA Individual State Tournament. They will then be honored in front of the crowd, prior to the announcement of the finals match-ups.

What do you think?

175 Points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Mike Bare

Leave a Reply

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Jacob Warner chasing World gold

Illinois Matmen Q&A: Rankings with Rob Sherrill