Hall of Fame Inductees: Front Row: Terry Mulrenin, Tom Reed, John Sammons, Mike Gluck, Jim Izzo, Freddie Wilson (representing Reggie Wilson). 2nd Row: Mick Torres, Chris Quigley, Glenn Lid, Kenny Watkins, Wilbur Borrero. Back Row: Kris Kamp, John Nino, Ken Rucker, Eric Bates, Bill Zeman, Rudy Salinas.

2016 IWCOA Award Winners

Congratulations to this year’s IWCOA Hall of Fame inductees, Lifetime Service Award selections, and Annual Award winners!

Lifetime Service Award Winners:

Gold Awards

Keith Healy, New Lenox (Providence Catholic), 500 Wins
Augie Genovesi, Niles (Notre Dame), 500 Wins
Dave Mathews, Lisle, over 40 years of service
Kirby Rodgers, Lincoln, over 40 years of service
Don Mekeel, Sterling, over 40 years of service
Dan Fulscher, Lincoln, over 40 years of service

Silver Awards

Jon Wagner, Edwardsville, 400 wins
Rudy Yates, Orland Park (Sandburg), 3x State Champion
Isaiah White, Oak Park (O.P-River Forest), 3x State Champion
Tom Heniff, Olympia Fields, Historical research of State Tournaments
George Dyche, Aurora, Historical research of State Tournaments
Roy Snyder, Rochelle, 15 State Finals
Don Mekeel, Sterling, 15 State Finals
Tom Futris, Crystal Lake, IKWF Official of the Year
Shane Morgan, IESA Official of the Year
Jason Hyerdall, Round Lake Beach, F-S State Official of the Year

Bronze Awards

Dion Wiley, Richton Park
Kyle Betourne, Kankakee (McNamara), 2x State Champion
Greg Krulas, Dakota, 2x State Champion
Nathan Olsen, Dakota, 2x State Champion
Brady Wilsie, Byron, 2x State Champion
Josh King, Darien (Hinsdale South), 2x State Champion
Hunter Grau, Geneseo, 2x State Champion
Nathan Traxler, Aurora (Marmion), 2x State Champion
Dylan Duncan, Lombard (Montini), 2x State Champion
Randy Meneweather, Washington, 2x State Champion
Kris Kamp, Deer Creek, 10 State Finals Officiated
Kenny Watkins, Maywood, 10 State Finals Officiated
Ray Eickelschulte, Fowler, 10 State Finals Officiated

Man of the Year

Craig Anderson

Award winners in bold.

Wrestler of the Year

Class 1A
Nolan Baker, Byron
Kyle Betourne, Kankakee (McNamara)
Greg Krulas, Dakota
Riley Kaurzlaric, Coal City

Class 2A
Hunter Grau, Geneseo
Eric Schultz, Tinley Park
Jacob Warner, Washington

Class 3A
Austin Gomez, Carol Stream (Glenbard North)
Matt Rowland, Villa Park (Willowbrook)
Isaiah White, Oak Park (O.P.-River Forest)
Rudy Yates, Orland Park (Sandburg)

Scholastic Wrestler of the Year

Class 1A
Garrett Brachbill, Shelbyville
Riley Kauzlaric, Coal City
Grant Miller, Herscher
William Monroe, Sparta
Joey Rivera, Coal City

Class 2A
Donald Keeley, III, Washington
Randy Meneweather, Washington
Matthew Reyes Chicago (Mt. Carmel

Class 3A
Zachary Krause, Plainfield (East)
Shayne Oster, Lockport
Marcus Povlick, Plainfield (North)
Matt Rowland, Villa Park (Willowbrook)
Jacob Silzer, Chicago (St. Rita)

Official of the Year

Scott Blankenship,
Ron Coit, Farmer City
Don McKillip
Shane Morgan, Oswego
Roy Snyder, Rochelle

Administrator of the Year

Class 1A
Andy Berlinski, Princeton
Jason Greene, Eureka
David Harris, Belleville (Althoff)
Dan Hutchings, Coal City

Class 2A
Todd Becker, Bensenville (Fenton)
Kenny Deatherage, Troy (Triad)
Herb Knoblauch, Washington
John Stimler, Chicago (Mt. Carmel)

Class 3A
Brad Bevis, Edwardsville
Andrew Damato, Aurora (Marmion)
Raymond Epperson, Plainfield (North)
Seth Schoonover, Yorkville

Newsman of the Year

Jared Bell, News Tribune/Illinois Matmen
Stan Morris, Peoria Journal Star
Brent Sumner, Coal City Courant
Brian Weidman, Sauk Valley Media

Assistant Coach of the Year

Class 1A
Vince Alber, Dakota
Ryan Harris, Belleville (Althoff)
Jim Looper, Coal City
Brent Schurr, Sherrard

Class 2A
Kevin Heller, Sterling
Mark Kristoff, Cahokia
Nick Miller, Washington
Mark Ragle, Pontiac

Class 3A
Matt Bartley, Lockport
Ben Gerdes, New Lenox (Providence)
Joe Gomez, Carol Stream (Glenbard North)
Joseph Silvestro, Aurora (Marmion)

Coach of the Year

Class 1A
Jason Clay, Vandalia
Pete Cleary, Stanford (Olympia)
Jeff Garrett, Sherrard
Josh Harper, Belleville (Althoff)

Class 2A
Jeff Gale, Sterling
John Kading, Chicago (Mt. Carmel)
Justin Lehr, Crystal Lake (Central)
Pete Marx, Ottawa

Class 3A
Keith Healy, New Lenox (Providence)
Brandon Murphy, Villa Park (Willowbrook)
Eric Roberson, Alton
Jon Wagner, Edwardsville

Board Member of the Year

Nate Kessen, Sugar Grove

All nominations were completed by IWCOA Members. Some categories have a restriction that an individual may not be nominated for an award if he/she has won the award in the past 3 years.

What do you think?

176 Points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Mike Bare

Leave a Reply

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

2016 IHSA State Wrestling Highlight Video

2016 IWCOA HOF and All-State Banquet Programs